Projects and outlook

Since 1991, more than 800 km of ballastless track has been installed in Germany alone. Between Cologne and Frankfurt am Main, high-speed trains rush along RHEDA tracks and RAIL.ONE delivered over 180,000 special patented sleepers just-in-time to this major construction site. Additional major projects have been completed in the meantime, including the line from Nuremberg to Ingolstadt, Germany, as well as the Berlin North-South Link.

High-speed line in South Korea

For the second section of the high-speed connection from Seoul to Busan – known as the Kyungbu Line – RAIL.ONE delivered around 150,000 bi-block sleepers from the RHEDA 2000® system. These sleepers were manufactured in a mobile factory built especially for this project in Sangju in Gyeongsangbuk-do Province, in the southern half of Korea. RAIL.ONE was also responsible for construction supervision in Project Section 4.


High-speed lines in Spain

In 2006 RAIL.ONE won the contract for delivery of the bi-block sleepers required for the RHEDA 2000® ballastless track system installed as part of new construction of the 28 km of double track in the Guadarrama Tunnel on the mainline track from Madrid to Valladolid, in Spain. On this same line, an additional 12 km of track was executed as RHEDA 2000® in the San Pedro Tunnel. Since February of 2008, this high-speed line has been in operation for speeds of 350 km/h. Likewise, 15 km was installed in RHEDA 2000® for the Sant Joan Despí Tunnel on the line from Madrid to Barcelona, which was placed into service in December of 2007.

In addition, a number of ballastless track projects with an estimated length of 15 to 20 km were completed in 2006 and 2007, as part of the Eje Atlantico Project. These lines can be later converted from the Spanish to the European gauge. For the section of the HS Line from Perpignan to Figueras, RAIL.ONE delivered 50,000 mono-block sleepers, 28,000 bi-block sleepers of the RHEDA 2000® system, as well as over 28,000 linear metres of turnout sleepers.

to top

Upgrade and new-construction line: Nuremberg-Ingolstadt-Munich

New construction of the line from Nuremberg to Ingolstadt, Germany, part of the new high-speed link between Nuremberg and Munich, took place completely as ballastless track. In the south and central project sections of the line, with a total length of around 75 km, the RHEDA 2000® system by RAIL.ONE was installed. Precast technology by the Bögl company was implemented on the northern project section.

to top

High-speed line HSL ZUID in the Netherlands

One of the largest railway infrastructure projects in Europe to date has been construction of the new Dutch high-speed rail line HSL-ZUID, from Amsterdam, via Rotterdam, to the Dutch-Belgian border. With the exception of a short section, the entire line – with a total length of 88 km – was constructed completely with RHEDA 2000®. On this project, RAIL.ONE, as partner in a joint-venture company with the Dutch Royal BAM Group, was responsible not only for supply of more than 270,000 bi-block sleepers, but also for project planning, engineering, construction, and quality management.

to top

Taiwan High Speed Rail Line

Launching of ballastless track for high-speed rail traffic on the Asian market succeeded in 2004 with application of RHEDA 2000® in new construction of the high-speed line from Taipei to Kaohsiung, in Taiwan. In addition to the installation of Japanese ballastless track technology on the open track sections, the demanding areas near and in the train stations were implemented with the RHEDA 2000® system. Supply of material to the project placed special engineering and logistical demands on the participating companies. The total of 147 turnouts, with approximately 65,000 linear metres of turnout sleepers, was manufactured in Germany and transported by sea to Taiwan. The majority of the 125,000 main-track sleepers, however, came from local production facilities that were built and operated under the direction of RAIL.ONE.


to top

Ballastless track system in the People’s Republic of China

For expansion of its high-speed railway network, the People’s Republic of China is also employing RHEDA 2000® technology. In early 2006 RAIL.ONE and the Chinese Ministry of Railways signed an agreement on the associated transfer of know-how. This agreement granted China rights of use for RHEDA 2000® technology, and allowed RAIL.ONE, together with its partners, to play a key role in the planning and construction of the double-track passenger-dedicated line (PDL) from Wuhan to Guangzhou in southeast China. Almost the entire line, with a total length of 1,000 km, was executed as built with RHEDA 2000®. Since December of 2009, trains have used this high-speed line at a speed of 350 km/h.

to top

The flexible track for all purposes

The RHEDA 2000® ballestless track system is ideal for application on earthworks, over bridges, in tunnels, for turnout systems, as well as with vibration-protected mass-spring systems. Installation of noise absorbers significantly attenuates wheel and driving noise.

Projekte und Ausblick

Seit 1991 wurden allein in Deutschland mehr als 800 Kilometer Gleis als Feste Fahrbahn verlegt. Auch zwischen Köln und Frankfurt rauschen die Züge über RHEDA-Gleise. Über 180.000 patentierte Spezialschwellen hat RAIL.ONE just-in-time an die Baustelle geliefert. Weitere große Projekte wurden zwischenzeitlich abgeschlossen, unter anderem die Trasse Nürnberg – Ingolstadt sowie die Nord-Südverbindung Berlin.

Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke in Südkorea

Für den zweiten Abschnitt der Hochgeschwindigkeits-verbindung von Seoul nach Busan – genannt Kyungbu-Linie –  wurden rund 150.000 Zweiblockschwellen des Systems RHEDA 2000® geliefert. Die Produktion der Schwellen erfolgte in einem eigens dafür errichteten mobilen Werk in Sangju in der Provinz Gyeongsangbuk-do in der Südhälfte Koreas. Darüber hinaus zeichnete RAIL.ONE für die Bauüberwachung im Los 4 verantwortlich.


Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecken in Spanien

2006 erhielt RAIL.ONE den Auftrag zur Lieferung der Zweiblockschwellen für das Feste Fahrbahn-System RHEDA 2000®, das beim Neubau von 28 km Doppelgleis im „Guadarrama Tunnel“ auf der Fernverkehrsverbindung Madrid-Valladolid, Spanien, zur Anwendung kam. Darüber hinaus wurden auf dieser Strecke für den Tunnel San Pedro weitere 12 km in RHEDA 2000® ausgeführt. Seit Februar 2008 wird die Hochgeschwindigkeitsverbindung nun mit 350 km/h befahren. Für den Tunnel Sant Joan Despí auf der Strecke Madrid-Barcelona wurden ebenfalls 15 km in RHEDA 2000® ausgeführt. Im Dezember 2007 erfolgte die Inbetriebnahme dieser Bahnlinie.

Weiterhin wurden im Rahmen der Projekte „Eje Atlantico“ mehrere Feste Fahrbahn-Projekte mit einer geschätzten Streckenlänge von 15-20 km in 2006 und 2007 realisiert, welche von der spanischen Spurweite zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt auf die europäische Spurweite umgebaut werden können. Für die Neubaustrecke Perpignan-Figueras wurden 50.000 Monoblockschwellen, 28.000 Zweiblockschwellen des Systems RHEDA 2000® sowie über 28.000 laufende Meter Weichenschwellen geliefert.

Nach oben

ABS/NBS Nürnberg-Ingolstadt-München

Der Neubau des Streckenabschnittes Nürnberg-Ingolstadt, als Teil der neuen Hochgeschwindigkeitsverbindung Nürnberg-München, erfolgte völlig in Fester Fahrbahn. Bei der insgesamt rund 75 km langen Strecke wurde in den Losen Süd und Mitte das System RHEDA 2000® von RAIL.ONE eingebaut, im Los Nord die Fertigteil-Technologie der Firma Bögl.

Nach oben

Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke HSL Zuid in den Niederlanden

Bei einem der größten Bahninfrastrukturprojekte Europas, dem Bau der neuen niederländischen Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke HSL-ZUID von Amsterdam über Rotterdam bis zur niederländisch-belgischen Grenze, wurde, mit Ausnahme eines kurzen Streckenabschnitts, die gesamte Strecke auf einer Länge von insgesamt rund 88 Kilometern mit Fester Fahrbahn vom Typ RHEDA 2000® gebaut. RAIL.ONE war hierbei Partner in einer Joint Venture-Gesellschaft mit der niederländischen Royal BAM Group und somit nicht nur der Lieferant von über 270.000 Zweiblockschwellen, sondern mitverantwortlich für Projektplanung, Engineering, Bau und Qualitätsmanagement.

Nach oben

Taiwan High Speed Rail Line

Der Einstieg der Festen Fahrbahn-Technologie von RAIL.ONE in den asiatischen Markt gelang 2004 beim Neubau der Hochgeschwindigkeitsstrecke Taipeh-Kaohsiung in Taiwan. Neben dem Einsatz japanischer Fester Fahrbahn-Technik in den freien Gleisabschnitten wurden insbesondere die anspruchsvollen Bahnhofs- und Weichenbereiche mit dem System RHEDA 2000® von RAIL.ONE ausgestattet. Die Belieferung des Projektes stellte besondere technische und logistische Anforderungen an die Beteiligten. Während die insgesamt 147 Weichen mit rund 65.000 laufenden Metern Weichenschwellen in Deutschland hergestellt und auf dem Seeweg nach Taiwan transportiert wurden, stammt der Großteil der rund 125.000 Gleisschwellen aus einer Produktion vor Ort, die unter der Führung von RAIL.ONE aufgebaut und betrieben wurde.


Nach oben

Feste Fahrbahn in der Volksrepublik China

Auch in der Volksrepublik China kommt im Rahmen des Programms für den Ausbau des Hochgeschwindigkeitsnetzes die RHEDA 2000®-Technologie zum Einsatz. Anfang 2006 schlossen RAIL.ONE und das chinesische Eisenbahn-ministerium einen Vertrag über einen entsprechenden Know-how-Transfer. Mit dieser Vereinbarung wurden China Nutzungsrechte an der RHEDA 2000®-Technik eingeräumt und RAIL.ONE gemeinsam mit ihren Partnern maßgeblich an der Planung und dem Bau der zweigleisigen PDL (Passenger Dedicated Line) von Wuhan nach Guangzhou im Südosten des Landes beteiligt. Fast die gesamte ca. 1.000 km lange Strecke wurde in RHEDA 2000® ausgeführt. Seit Dezember 2009 wird die Hochgeschwindigkeitsverbindung mit 350 km/h befahren.

Nach oben

Der flexible Weg für jeden Zweck

Das Feste Fahrbahn-System RHEDA 2000® ist ideal für den Einsatz auf Erdbauwerken, auf Brücken, in Tunnels sowie für Weichen und auch für erschütterungsgeschützte Masse-Feder-Systeme. Durch Auflage von Schallabsorbern werden Fahr- und Abrollgeräusche gedämpft.